DAIS'03 - FMOODS '03 PhD Workshop

17th November 2003 Paris, France

 

PhD Student Workshop on 

Formal Methods for Open Object-based Distributed Systems
and
Distributed Applications and Interoperable Systems


CALL FOR PAPERS 


The combined “Formal Methods for Open Object-based Distributed Systems and Distributed Applications and Interoperable Systems” workshop is intended for PhD students working within the area of formal method
support for Open Object-based distributed systems and technologies/platforms for reconfigurable, scalable, and adaptable distributed systems. All relevant topics are considered, including but not restricted to:

• Formal models and techniques for specification, design or analysis
• Testing, validation and verification
• Formal support for software development
• Frameworks for modelling, specifying, monitoring and managing context-aware applications
• Support for reconfiguration, self-organisation and autonomic behaviour
• Foundations and applications of web services
• Formal models for coordination, components and component based software
• Semantics of object-oriented, component-oriented and aspect-oriented programming languages and systems

Submission Information

Authors are invited to submit a 5-8 page position paper for review using the Springer LNCS Style http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html. The purpose of the position paper is to give the other participants an overview of your work, as well as to stimulate a lively discussion, so do try to include thought provoking ideas.

Papers should be submitted electronically by 19th September to Phil Greenwood (p.greenwood@lancaster.ac.uk) in either PostScript or PDF format. Submissions will be evaluated by the Programme Committee; authors of accepted papers will be notified by 10th October and will be invited to give a 20 minute presentation of their paper at the workshop.

Please note only students may submit to this workshop. Help and advice from supervisors is allowed and encouraged but this help should be acknowledged in the paper.

Accepted papers and abstracts will be informally published and will be made available to all participants.


Important Dates

19th September 2003: Deadline for submission of position papers
10th October 2003: Notification of acceptance
17th-18th November: 2003 Workshop


Workshop Organisers

Philip Greenwood 
Computing Department, Lancaster University
p.greenwood@lancaster.ac.uk

Kevin Lee
Computing Department, Lancaster University
leek@comp.lancs.ac.uk

Matthias Zenger
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
matthias.zenger@epfl.ch

Lynne Blair – FMOODS Liaison
Computing Department, Lancaster University
lb@comp.lancs.ac.uk


Programme Committee

Cyril Carrez carrez@gervaise.enst.fr
Daniel Buenzli Daniel.Buenzli@epfl.ch
Erika Ábrahám eab@informatik.uni-freiburg.de
Jennifer Tenzer j.n.tenzer@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jerome Hugues hugues@enst.fr
Karen Henricksen kmh@dstc.edu.au
Kevin Lee leek@comp.lancs.ac.uk
Ludovic Henrio ludovic.henrio@sophia.inria.fr
Matthias Zenger matthias.zenger@epfl.ch
Nirman Kumar nkumar5@cs.uiuc.edu
Peter Rigole peter.rigole@cs.kuleuven.ac.be
Sebastian Gutierrez-Nolasco seguti@ics.uci.edu
Shiva Chetan chetan@uiuc.edu
Thomas Strang thomas.strang@dlr.de